How to reset an account

An account reset is to be used only when strictly necessary, most often to resolve stuck and pending transactions. We do not recommend you reset your account unless one of our Support agents suggests you do so.

Account resets are intended primarily for developers, who may find it useful to reset a test network while continuing to use the same account. When you reset, MetaMask considers the network ID to be a clean network in a fresh state, essentially resetting the transaction history.

Note that resetting your account only affects the current network

Before resetting, we recommend you download your state logs. This will allow our Support agents to troubleshoot the root cause if necessary. The reset process is irreversible, and not a common feature for most users.

You will not lose value in your accounts.

To reset the account:

  1. On Extension, click the account icon on the top-right corner. On Mobile, tap the hamburger icon in the top left to open the main menu.
  2. Select Settings
  3. Select Advanced 
  4. Scroll down and click Reset Account
Was this article helpful?
348 out of 717 found this helpful

Articles in this section